European Parliament elects the Von Der Leyen Commission

Following the conclusion of the hearings process, European Parliament approved the new Commissioners, presented to plenary by Commission President-elect Von Der Leyen

The new College of Commissioners obtained 461 votes in favour, 157 against and 89 abstentions. Different results for the last Jean-Claude Juncker Commission which obtained, during last 2014, 423 votes in favour – 209 against – 67 abstentions.

During her opening statement, European Commission President- elect Ursula Von Der Leyen reiterated many of the commitments she made in Parliament’s plenary chamber in July, and by the Commissioners-designate during the hearings process. She highlighted that appropriate investment and regulatory frameworks will be put into place for Europe to lead the way internationally on a range of critical issues: environmental protection and climate change, growth, inclusion, innovation and digitalisation, as well as the protection of democracy, European values, citizens’ rights and the rule of law.

The new College of Commissioners will take office on 1° December 2019 for next five years

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *